(Irish Grid Reference: J009410)
The Perpetual Curacy of Clare was established on March 6th 1840 with the uniting of four townlands from Mullabrack, five from Loughgilly and twelve from Ballymore parishes. The curacy was eventually incorporated within the Parish of Ballymore.
The church established within this curacy was consecrated on October 13th 1842. The Church itself is a tall elegant structure of a simplified gothic design with a bell-cote adorning the top of the building. The plans have been retained by the Diocesan records and show the brief for Farrel and Son to have been "to accommodate 218 persons in pews and aisle sittings at the Eleven Lane Ends near Markethill, County Armagh".
At the entrance to the path leading up to the church are two gate lodges. These were not contained within the original plans and are now used for storage. The only adornments are the granite quoins at the angles of the building, brick mouldings and lattice windows.
According to Brett, this little group of buildings is a charming picture against a backdrop of rural tranquillity.
Fleming, WEC, Armagh Clergy 1800-2000 (2001)